

State of Illinois

Illinois Department on Aging

Attachment A Disability Statement

You may need to complete Attachment A if you are 16-64 years of age as of January 1 and you are the claimant or you are the claimant's spouse/civil union partner, and you were determined totally and permanently disabled.

Step 1: Answer the following questions to determine if you should complete this attachment. NOTE: See Line-by-Line Instruction on the reverse side.

1 Did you receive Social Security disability benefits last year?	yes 🗌 no 🗌
	,

4 Did you have a Class 2 disability card from the Illinois Secretary of State's office last year?.....yes 🗌 no 🗌

If you marked "yes" to any of the above, DO NOT complete the Attachment A.

Step 2: Complete the following information about yourself. Please print. NOTE: Complete a separate Attachment A for each person and submit as needed.

5 Social Security number			9 Birth date
6 Name			10 Phone
7 Address			11 Claimant's Social Security number
8 City	State	_ ZIP	

Step 3: A physician, or any licensed medical professional delegated the authority by a physician, must complete the following information about the person named on Line 6.

NOTE: The patient must meet the total disability criteria established by the Social Security Administration. Social Security Administration guidelines do not include alcoholism or drug abuse as a qualification for disability status.

"Person with a disability" means a person unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. [320 ILCS 2513.14]

12 Patient's name	
13 Date patient became disabled	
14 Was the patient able to work for a living after the above date?	yes 🗌 no 🗌
15 Has the disability lasted or is it expected to continue for 12 m	onths or more? yes \Box no \Box
16 What is the nature of the disability?	
Please see Social Security's Website at <u>https://www.ssa.gov/planners/disabllity</u> as a disability under Social Security guidelines. I declare under penalty of perjury that I have personally examined the patient statements or forms, and I have determined the patient to be a person with a d Social Security Administration.	listed on this form and any accompanying
17 Provider's Name	
18 Provider's Signature and date	
19 Provider's Illinois License number	This form is authorized as outlined by the Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax Relief
20 Provider's phone	and Pharmaceutical Assistance Act. Disclosure of

this information is REQUIRED. Failure to provide information could delay your benefit. IL-402-1094

Attachment A (R-3/24) Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois Digital IOCI 24-1438

Line-by-Line instructions for Attachment A

You may need to complete Attachment A if you are 16 -64 years of age on January 1 of this year, and you are the claimant or the claimant's spouse/civil union partner.

NOTE: "Person with a disability" means a person unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. [320 JLCS 25/3.14]

STEP 1: Answer the following questions to determine if you should complete this attachment or verify disability with one of the documents listed below.

1 through 4

If you answered

- If "Yes" to question 1 and you did not have an eligible Benefit Access Application from last year, attach one of the following *instead* of Attachment A:
 - a copy of Form SSA-1099 showing a Medicare deduction
 - a copy of your statement showing SSI benefits
 - a copy of your statement showing a Medicare deduction
- If "Yes" to question 2, attach the following item *instead* of Attachment A:
 - a copy of your pension statement from the Railroad Retirement or Civil Service agency stating that you were totally disabled or you had a deduction for Medicare
- If "Yes" to question 3, attach one of the following *instead* of Attachment A:
 - a copy of your pension statement
 - a copy of your statement showing compensation rated at 100 percent
- If "Yes" to question 4, attach the following item *instead* of Attachment A:
 - a copy of your Class 2 disability card from the Secretary of State's office.
- If "No" to all of the above questions complete Attachment A.

STEP 2: Complete the following information about yourself.

5 through 10

Complete the information about yourself (the person for whom Attachment A is being filed as proof of disability).

11 Write the claimant's Social Security number.

STEP 3: A physician, or any licensed medical professional delegated the authority by a physician, must complete the following information about the person named on Line 6.

Present Attachment A to the provider of the person named on Line 6. The provider must complete Step 3.