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How many reports of elder
abuse were received?
During the period of July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2012,
there were 11,840reports of elder abuse received by
the program.

What is elder abuse?  

Elder abuse refers to the following types of mistreatment
of any Illinois resident 60 years of age or older who lives
in the community and is abused by another person. 

Physical Abuse— causing the infliction of physical
pain or injury to an older adult.

Sexual Abuse— touching, fondling, or any other
sexual activity with an older adult when the older adult
is unable to understand, unwilling to consent,
threatened, or physically forced.

Emotional Abuse— verbal assaults, threats of
abuse, harassment, or intimidation so as to compel
the older adult to engage in conduct from which s/he
has a right to abstain or to refrain from conduct in
which the older adult has a right to engage.

Confinement— restraining or isolating an older
adult for other than medical reasons.

Passive Neglect— the failure by a caregiver to
provide an older adult with the necessities of life
including, but not limited to, food, clothing, shelter, or
medical care, because of failure to understand the
older adult’s needs, lack of awareness of services to
help meet needs, or lack of capacity to care for the
older adult.

Willful Deprivation— willfully denying assistance
to an older adult who requires medication, medical care,
shelter, food, therapeutic device, or other physical
assistance, thereby exposing that person to the risk of
harm.

Financial Exploitation— the misuse or
withholding of an older adult’s resources to the
disadvantage of the elderly person and/or the profit or
advantage of another person.

Illinois Law

The Illinois Department on Aging administers the
statewide Elder Abuse and Neglect Program (EANP),
under the authority of the Elder Abuse and Neglect Act
(320ILCS 20/1 et seq.) to respond to reports of
alleged mistreatment of any Illinois citizen 60 years of
age or older who lives in the community at the time of
the report.  

The EANP is locally coordinated through 41 provider
agencies, which are designated by the Regional
Administrative Agencies (RAAs) and the Department
on Aging.  All Elder Abuse Caseworkers are trained
and certified by the Department, which promulgates
the Program’s policies and procedures and oversees
the monitoring of services through the RAAs.

Depending on the nature and seriousness of the
allegations, a trained caseworker will make a face-to-
face contact with the victim within the following time
frames: 24 hours for life threatening situations, 72
hours for most neglect and non life threatening
physical abuse reports, and seven calendar days for
most financial exploitation and emotional abuse
reports.

The caseworker has 30 days to do a comprehensive
assessment, both to determine if the client has been
mistreated and to determine his/her need for services
and interventions.  If the abuse is substantiated, the
caseworker involves the older adult in the
development of a case plan to alleviate the situation.
The caseworker always attempts to utilize the least
restrictive alternatives that will allow the older adult to

remain independent to the degree possible.

Limited Mandatory Reporting.Applies to
persons delivering professional services to older
adults in the following fields: social services, adult day
care, law enforcement, education, medicine, state
service to seniors, and social work.  The requirements
for limited mandatory reporting apply when the
reporter believes that the older adult is not capable of
reporting the abuse himself/herself.  The law also
encourages any person to report voluntarily for an
older adult, and provides immunity from liability and
professional disciplinary action for anyone making
such an elder abuse report in good faith.

Self-Neglect.Effective January 1, 2007 the Elder
Abuse and Neglect  Act (EANA) was amended to
include self-neglect.  The amendment established that
responding to such cases would be contingent upon
sufficient funding. In the absence of sufficient funding
for statewide implementation, elder abuse provider
agencies began receiving reports of self-neglect and
refer the reports on to the appropriate agency(s) for
follow-up.  The EANP received 1,211 self-neglect
reports in Fiscal Year 2012.

Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team.

Effective June 1, 2009 the EANA was amended to
include provisions for the Department, or any other
State or county agency with Department approval, the
right to establish regional interagency elder abuse
fatality review teams.  The purpose of an Elder Abuse
Fatality Review Team (EAFRT) is to review suspicious
deaths of persons 60 years of age or older who reside
in a domestic setting.  The counties of Boone,
Winnebago, Kane, Kendall, DeKalb, DuPage, and
Madison each participate in an EAFRT.  The passage
of P.A. 96-526, effective January 1, 2010, gave
provider agencies the right to share information with
coroners. 

Mandatory Training for Financial

Institutions. Public Act 96-1103 was passed
during the 2010 legislative session and mandated that
the Illinois Department on Aging and the Illinois
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
jointly develop rules to require financial institutions to
train staff on elder financial exploitation. The rules
required that prior to February 1, 2012 each financial
institution in the state train members of its staff having
direct customer contact, on how to recognize and
report financial exploitation.

FY 2012 Accomplishments

B*SAFE (Bankers and Seniors Against

Financial Exploitation). As a result of PA 96-
1103, B*SAFE training increased significantly in FY
2012.  Elder abuse provider agencies conducted
training with 159 banks and financial institutions,
which resulted in 2,746 bank employees being
trained. Financial institutions conducted 49 trainings to
400 bank employees.  Thirty-four trainings were
conducted to 584 seniors.  

25th Anniversary of the Elder Rights

Conference. The Department celebrated its 25th
anniversary of hosting the Elder Rights Conference on
July 6-8, 2011, at the Westin Chicago River North.
Robert Blancato, President of Matz, Blancato &
Associates, opened the conference with updates and
the future of the Elder Justice Act. Candace Heisler,
J.D., a trainer from the San Bruno, CA, and Dr. Dean
Hawley, M.D. a Forensic Pathologist, presented on
Practical Investigative tools for Assessment of
Suspected Abuse and Neglect. Shirly Paceley, Blue
Tower Training, presented on the journey of a woman
exposed to sexual abuse.  The conference was
attended by 400 partcipants.
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