Skip to main content

Volunteer to help or request services from your local Area Agency on Aging

The Illinois Department on Aging and our 13 Area Agencies on Aging are working around the clock to ensure that the services we provide - specifically the in-home services and home delivered meals program that our seniors depend on - will not be interrupted during this situation. If you or an older family member, friend, or neighbor are in need of any kind of assistance, please know we are here to help you.

The State of Illinois and its community partners are working to ensure the health of our citizens. Those that are considering volunteering, such as donating blood, have many options, both in-person as well as virtual efforts. Click here for more information on how you can volunteer.

The Area Agencies on Aging are also accepting assistance from volunteers for non face-to-face contact with our older adults; which includes telephone reassurance programs. No experience is necessary for volunteers. Your local Area Agencies on Aging will provide you with instructions and stand ready to accept your help. It’s essential we support one another and show compassion to those who need it. We encourage anyone to volunteer by looking up your local Area Agency on Aging by county, emailing, or calling our Senior HelpLine at 1-800-252-8966.

Are you under 60 years of age, disabled, homebound and in need?  Visit the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity website. Just click on the county you live in on the map at the link and it will give you the information you need to get assistance.

Below is a quick reference of Area Agency on Aging contact names and phone numbers if you are interested in volunteering.

Area 1

Jeffrey Barnes
(779) 221-3702
Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, JoDaviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago Counties

Area 2

Alaine Kvedaras
630-293-5990 ext. 105
DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties

Area 3

Jacob Irish
Bureau, Henderson, Henry, Knox, LaSalle, McDonough, Mercer, Putnam, Rock Island, and Warren Counties

Area 4

Anita Brown
Fulton, Marshall, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford Counties

Area 5

Amber Johnson
309-829-2065 ext. 201
Champaign, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt, Shelby, and Vermilion Counties

Area 6

Adam Smith
Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Hancock, Pike, and Schuyler Counties

Area 7

Jennifer Hopper
Cass, Christian, Greene, Jersey, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Sangamon, and Scott Counties

Area 8

Joy Paeth
Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair, and Washington Counties

Area 9

Lori Cummins 
Clay, Effingham, Fayette, Jefferson, and Marion Counties

Area 10

Shanna Holmes
Crawford, Edwards, Hamilton, Jasper, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties

Area 11

Tina Overton
Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, and Williamson Counties

Area 12

Joyce Gallagher
(312) 746-5682
City of Chicago

Area 13

Joan Fox
Suburban Cook County