Skip to main content

Area Agencies on Aging

In accordance with federal Older American's Act regulations, the Illinois Department on Aging has divided Illinois into 13 Planning and Service Areas (PSAs).

The 13 Planning and Service Areas in Illinois are each managed and served by an Area Agency on Aging. The Department works in partnership with these agencies: 12 not-for-profit corporations and one unit of local government, the City of Chicago.

Area Agencies have the primary task of planning and coordinating services and programs for older people in their respective areas. The Area Agencies receive funding from the Department based on a formula which takes into consideration the number of older citizens and minorities in that area, as well as the number living in poverty, in rural areas, and alone.

Like the Department on Aging, Area Agencies are not, as a rule, direct service providers. Area Agencies contract with local agencies which provide services to the older people who live in the same community.

Locate an Area Agency on Aging

There are several ways to locate the Area Agency on Aging near you.

1. Click on an area of the map to get specific Area Agency on Aging information;